About Us


The Government First Grade College Narasimharajapura  was established in the year 1985 by the Directorate of Collegiate Education, Government of Karnataka wide order No.ED:81:MUN85  Dated 05-08-1985 and the college started on 03-09-1985 in Taluk Panchayat building with Prof Somannaih as the first Principal with a staff strength of  05   and student strength 32.  The college has been recognized under 2(f) and 12(b) of UGC act wide letter no.F.8-325/2006(CPP-1) Dated. Oct’2006. GFGC Narasimharajapura  when started in the year 1985 was affiliated to Mysore University. The college came under the jurisdiction of Kuvempu University after the establishment of Kuvempu University in the year 1990.

The college is situated on the main road of Shimoga and Narasimharajapura at a distance of         2 Km from main Bus stand. The college is in an area of 10 acres of land with greenery inside the campus and also in the surroundings. The view of backwaters of Bhadra Reservoir is very pleasant and it is at a yards of distance from the college. The college has a built area of 1051.22 sq mts with a traditional outlook Malnad buildings.

Government First Grade college Narasimharajapura is the only first grade college offering Arts, Science,commerce Management and Social work Undergraduate courses.

At the time of inception the institution was offering only B A and B.Com U G courses with the student strength 32 and the member of teaching and non teaching staff was only 05 later on by considering the necessity of the of the local students requirements the institution has introduced BBM in the year 2005 since the institution started performing in a appreciable manner. The institution also introduced BSW as a UG course in the Year 2007 which was mainly introduced U G degree in Kuvempu University. This institution was the first to incorporate BSW degree expect University college. In order to encourage the  local PUC science student to take up their B.Sc Degree their local area the institution also started B.Sc with Physics Mathematics and computer science as a elective papers in year 2010.